Character research

 Untitled-1

 

(Hey Duggee) Rounded shapes, dog like face and dog ears, light colours used, shading used on ears to make them separate from Duggee’s head, no outlines used.

The simple design and shapes can inspire the form of the characters for the children’s animation.

 

 mameshiba

 

(Mameshiba) Soft rounded shaped used, dog face and ears used on a bean body, simple colours used no textures, thick outlines, small use of lighting to create a 3D effect.

The simplicity of the signifiers can inspire how I make the characters understandable to the target audience.

 

 hamtaro

 

(Hamtaro) rounded body, simple shapes used, exaggerated facial features used to convey emotions/expressions, no textures used, thin outlines, the multiple colours used give a sense of depth on the character (you can see where the head ends and ears begin as well as a slight curve below the cheeks).

The use of colours to add a depth to the character can inspire me on how to use the colours on my characters.

 turtle

 

(Finding Nemo) no outlines used, textured colours used, lots of shading and lighting used, simple and complex shapes used (ellipses, squares, triangles, spheres, cubes and pyramids).

This character can influence how I used textures on my characters to add a sense of depth to them.

metabee

 

(Medabots) human body with beetle themed design (horns, exoskeleton and claws on feet like many beetles), simple colours used with little textures, complex shapes used to make any of the body parts, outlines used to add definition, light and shading are used to make the character seem 3D.

This character can inspire me on how I can use outline, light and shading on my characters to make them seem more realistic.

 

 

After researching the characters I sketched them to understand more about them.

Scan 1character-research

From my sketches I found the easiest was both Duggee and Mameshiba because of their simplicity, and I found Squirt from Finding Nemo to be the most difficult due to the detail.

 

Leave a comment