target audience and audio development

The target audience for my stop motion animation will be 16-25 year olds both male and female, one reason is that because the original web comic it is based on contains strong language and violence, furthermore another reason the age range for my target audience of 16-25 is because my animation will have a dark/grim ending that I do not think would be suitable for younger viewers. I have come to this conclusion of who my target audience are because of who the fandom currently consists of, one way I found out the target audience was to meet other fans at a convention in London, another way I found the target audience was with social media, on Facebook there is a page setup for fans that talk to other fans and make costumes/props based on or from the web comic and even talk about their own stories/comics/theories based on the web comic.

For the soundtrack of my animation I planned to use parts of 5 royalty free song, which were; Volatile Reaction, Black Vortex, Mechanolith, In a heart beat, Harmful or Fatal, I planned to do this because I believed that each individual song had parts that would of created an atmosphere that would be relevant to the setting of my animation, however when I attempted to mix the parts together they did  not fit well with each other. In the end I decided to use parts from the one song that I thought would be best for my animation, the song was Volatile Veaction, first I created the start of the soundtrack by having it fade in, next I created a loop of music that I could then repeat/cut depending on the length of my animation, I then created the end of the song to match the scene where my character falls off the log.

 

 

Leave a comment